top of page

Tournament Most Valuable Player

2016 - Jeril Taylor, Southern Indiana

2017 - Justin Reyes, St. Thomas Aquinas

2018 - Trevor Hudgins, NW Missouri State

2019 - Ryan Hawkins, NW Missouri State

2021 - Elijah Jenkins, Embry - Riddle

2022 - Jadin Booth, Florida Southern

2023 - Jadin Booth, Florida Southern

SCB Classic Logo - color-2.jpg

2024 SCB Hall of Fame Classic Teams and Matchups Announced


Kansas City, MO – Small College Basketball is excited to announce the team and matchups for the 2024 Hall of Fame Classic. After a fantastic 2023 Hall of Fame Classic, the 2024 event returns to Lakeland, FL and the Jenkins Fieldhouse on the campus of Florida Southern College. This year’s event will take place on Saturday November 2nd and Sunday November 3rd. Small College Basketball will continue their partnerships with Polk County Tourism and Sports Marketing and Visit Central Florida. John McCarthy had this to say about the 2024 Hall of Fame Classic:


"I am just thrilled with the field of teams that will be participating in the 2024 Small College Basketball Hall of Fame Classic,” stated McCarthy.  “Six of these teams played in the NCAA Division II Regional Championship game this past season, while four of them reached the Elite Eight,  Both teams that played in the National Championship game this past season (Minnesota State and Nova Southeastern) will open up the 2024-25 season in the Hall of Fame Classic.  We are so grateful to the D2 CCA for the exemption that they provide for the Small College Basketball Hall of Fame Classic, and we continue to be thrilled with the support from Florida Southern College, Polk County Tourism and Sports Marketing and Visit Central Florida. Collectively, I'm confident that this is the finest overall in-season event within NCAA Division II basketball."


For the third straight year the event will include 10 teams. The Hall of Fame Classic started in 2016 in Evansville, IN. After a stop in St. Joseph, MO, the Hall of Fame Classic moved to Lakeland, FL in 2022. The event did not take place during the 2020 season.


The prominent event includes five games on Saturday and five games on Sunday. Below are the teams and matchups for this year’s event. For more information on the Hall of Fame Classic and Small College Basketball please head to


Saturday, November 2, 2024

11:00     Carson-Newman vs. Lake Superior State

1:15       Fort Lewis vs. Point Loma Nazarene

3:30       Nova Southeastern vs. Gannon

5:45       Florida Southern vs. Minnesota State

8:00       North Georgia vs. STAC


Sunday, November 3, 2024

11:00     Fort Lewis vs. Carson-Newman

1:15       Lake Superior State vs. Gannon

3:30       Nova Southeastern vs. STAC

5:45       Florida Southern vs. Point Loma Nazarene

8:00       Minnesota State vs. North Georgia


In alphabetic order, here are the teams that have participated in the Small College Basketball Hall of Fame Classic from 2016-2021:


Alabama-Huntsville (2016, 2021 & 2022)

Augustana, SD (2017)

Bellarmine (2016)

Bentley (2023)

Cedarville (2023)

Central Oklahoma (2023)

Colorado School of Mines (2023)

Daemen (2019)

Dallas Baptist (2022)

Davenport (2019)

Embry - Riddle (2021)

Emporia State (2023)

Fairmont State (2018)

Ferris State (2017 & 2018)

Findlay (2017)

Flagler (2022)

Florida Southern (2016, 2022 & 2023)

Hillsdale (2022)

Kentucky Wesleyan (2016 & 2017)

Indiana University of PA (2017)

Lincoln Memorial (2016, 2019 & 2022)

Mercyhurst (2023)

Missouri Western (2018, 2019 & 2021)

Montevallo (2017)

Northern State (2018 & 2021)

Northwest Missouri State (2018, 2019, 2021 & 2022)

Nova Southeastern (2022)

Queens (2018)

Rockhurst (2021)

Seattle Pacific (2021)

Southern Indiana (2016 & 2017)

Southern Nazarene (2019)

St. Thomas Aquinas (2017 & 2021)

Tarleton State (2018)

UMSL (2023)

UNC Pembroke (2023)

USC Aiken (2019)

Valdosta State (2022)

Virginia Union (2023)

West Texas A&M (2019 & 2022)

William Jewell (2018)

bottom of page