top of page


 The Clarence “Bevo” Francis Award will be presented annually to the player who has had the finest overall season within Small College Basketball.  Considerations will be season statistics and individual achievements, awards, personal character and team achievements.  This will be an incredibly prestigious award, as this award will only be given to one player within Small College Basketball per season.

To view the Bevo Francis Award page,

please click here.

    2016 Bevo Francis Award Winner - Dominez Burnett

              with SCB Founder - John McCarthy

    2017 Bevo Francis Award Winner - Justin Pitts

              with SCB Founder - John McCarthy

                 2018 Bevo Francis Award Winner - Emanuel Terry

              with SCB Founder John McCarthy and Rio Grande 

                                Athletic Director Jeff Lanham


The Larry Smith Award will be given annually to the person who has used their opportunity through basketball to ultimately change their life, has given back and has made a difference in our world. 

Through Small College Basketball, Larry Smith will contribute $5,000 back to a men's basketball player in need at the alma mater of the winner of the Larry Smith Award. 

The first two winners of this award were given to George Tinsley (2017 Award Winner) and Charlie Titus (2018 Award Winner). To view the Larry Smith Award page and information on how to nominate for the award, please click here.


George Tinsley (middle) was honored with the first-ever Larry Smith Award on Nov. 2, 2017 in Evansville, Indiana

Charlie Titus (left) accepts the second annual Larry Smith award on Nov. 2, 2018 in St. Joseph, Missouri.



Harry Statham is a member of the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) Basketball Hall of Fame. His 1,122 wins during his 52 seasons at McKendree University in Lebanon, Illinois, are the most by any men's or women's basketball head coach at a four-year college or university in the United States. The only other coaches at a four-year institution with 1,000 or more wins are Pat Summitt, Danny Miles, Mike Krzyzewski, Herb Magee, Tara VanDerveer, Geno Auriemma and Sylvia Hatchell.​

The purpose of the Harry Statham Coach of Impact Award is to honor a Coach that has used the power of the coaching platform to make a positive impact on players, coaches and others. The Coach will be a person of high character and integrity who has served as an excellent role model, and who has deeply impacted the lives of others.


The annual winner of the Harry Statham Coach of Impact Award must have coached at the small college level for a majority of his career, and must have a high degree of personal character and integrity. The Coach may be a current or former Coach, but we'll honor a living Coach annually.


The Harry Statham Coach of Impact Award will be presented at the National Awards Show in May in Kansas City, Mo.  


To nominate a candidate for the award, please send detailed information about the Coach, along with examples of how the Coach has impacted the lives of others, to

Nominations are due on March 1 annually


To view the Harry Statham Coach of Character Award page, please click here. 

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award for the Small College Basketball Alumni Association is presented each year to an individual who has demonstrated a continuous commitment to small college basketball including measurable, lasting and sustained leadership and service, as well as an impact on the game over a career or a lifetime. 


The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented each year at the Small College Basketball’s Celebration of the Game.  Nominations for the award are made by members of the alumni association.

To view the Lifetime Achievement award page and more information on how to nominate for the award, please click here.

John Hudson accepts the first-ever Lifetime Achievement Award at the Small College Basketball Celebration of the Game event in Kansas City, Missouri. 

bottom of page