top of page

Don Meyer

At the time of his retirement, Coach Meyer’s 923 career wins was the most of any coach at any level of men’s college basketball in history.  He led David Lipscomb to the 1986 NAIA National Championship.  In 1990 he was named the NAIA National Coach of the Year and was also inducted into the NAIA Hall of Fame.  In 1991, his Bison team set a national record with 41 wins in a season.  


Meyer coached the two leading scorers in the history of college basketball, Philip Hutcheson and John Pierce, and he finished with an astounding record of 923 wins and 324 losses in 36 seasons.  

In 2011, Coach Meyer was presented with the prestigious Jimmy V Award for Inspiration at the ESPY’s.


He was a legendary mentor of coaches, and impacted thousands of coaches and players through his camps, coaching clinics and videos. 

Please see below the induction video of Don Meyer into the 2017 SCB Hall of Fame 

bottom of page