top of page

SCB Announces 2022 Champions Classic Teams and Schedule

January 27, 2022

Kansas City, MO – Small College Basketball is excited to announce the participating teams and schedule for the 2022 Champions Classic. The event will be hosted by Northern State University and games will be held within Wachs Arena. This inaugural event will take place on November 18th and 19th, 2022. The following teams will be participating in the inaugural event: Illinois Wesleyan, Nebraska Wesleyan, St. Joseph, Wisconsin-Oshkosh, Carroll, Morningside, Indiana Wesleyan, Dakota Wesleyan, Queens, Point Loma Nazarene, Northern State and Ferris State.  John McCarthy had this to say about the participating teams and matchups:


"What a field of teams for the Inaugural SCB Champions Classic!  This event will be a tremendous national showcase for college basketball, and we encourage families, fans and media to come to Aberdeen to witness this event in person.  This is a basketball junkie's dream!"


Northern State University's Barnett Center and Wachs Arena is one of the premier NCAA Division II facilities in the nation. The 8,000 seat arena includes an in-ground wood floor installed in 2019, a center-hung digital videoboard/scoreboard, and digital score table displays. The scoreboard, installed by Daktronics, is the largest collegiate center-hung video display system in the state of South Dakota. McCarthy added this about the Champions Classic:


"It's such a thrill to bring the SCB Champions Classic to life, and I am very grateful for the partnership with Northern State University.  NSU has led small college basketball in attendance for 13 consecutive years, and the Aberdeen community has a passionate fan base.  Wachs Arena will be a great venue for this event, and we're so excited to bring some of the very best teams in NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III and the NAIA to one site for a national showcase for college basketball."


The event will include six games on Friday and Saturday. Below are the matchups for this year’s event. For more information on the Champions Classic and Small College Basketball please head to


Friday, November 18

10:00                                             Illinois Wesleyan vs. Nebraska Wesleyan

12:00                                             St. Joseph vs. Wisconsin-Oshkosh

2:00                                               Carroll vs. Morningside

4:00                                               Indiana Wesleyan vs. Dakota Wesleyan

6:00                                               Queens vs. Point Loma Nazarene

8:00                                               Northern State vs. Ferris State


Saturday, November 19

10:00                                             Wisconsin-Oshkosh vs. Nebraska Wesleyan

12:00                                             St. Joseph vs. Illinois Wesleyan

2:00                                               Indiana Wesleyan vs. Morningside

4:00                                               Carroll vs. Dakota Wesleyan

6:00                                               Queens vs. Ferris State

8:00                                               Northern State vs. Point Loma Nazarene


SCB Champions Classic Awards Announcement

bottom of page