FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE February 1, 2024 Media Contact: Matt Ankenbrandt Sports Information Director | Small College Basketball 616.780.1335 www.smallcollegebasketball.com

2024 Trevor Hudgins Award Top 25 Watch List Released

Kansas City, MO – Small College Basketball and the National Awards Committee are excited to announce the inaugural Trevor Hudgins Top 25 Watch List for the 2023-24 season. The Trevor Hudgins Award will be presented annually to the senior who has had the finest overall four-year (or 5-year) career within Small College Basketball. John McCarthy had this to say about the inaugural Top 25 list:

"It's such a thrill to announce the Inaugural Trevor Hudgins Award Watch List of 25 Players," mentioned McCarthy. "Each of the players on this prestigious list are highly deserving, and are finalizing remarkable careers at the small college level. This is a highly unique and special group of players that have meant a great deal to their respective programs and communities. I am very grateful to our National Awards Committee for their insights on so many players throughout the country."

The award is named in honor of Northwest Missouri State's Trevor Hudgins, who had a historic career with the Bearcats. He led the Bearcats to three consecutive NCAA Division II National Championships. During his career, Hudgins started in every game and never missed one. He also never lost an NCAA Tournament game, leading the Bearcats to a remarkable 17-0 record in the NCAA Division II National Tournament. Hudgins was named the NCAA Division II Player of the Year in back-to-back seasons in 2021 and 2022. He holds both the NWMSU scoring and assists records and finished his career with 2,829 points, which ranks first all time in the 110 year history of the MIAA.

Considerations for the Trevor Hudgins Award are overall career statistics and achievements, team achievements, awards, and personal character. The player must have played his entire career at the small college level. This is the highest award given to a four-year (or five-year) player within Small College Basketball. On March 1st, the list will be reduced to 15 players. The video of the finalists will be released on Friday April 5, and the award winner will be announced through a video presentation on Monday April 8, at halftime of the NCAA Division I National Championship Game.

The overall intent of the Trevor Hudgins Award is two-fold: 1) To keep the collegiate legacy of Trevor Hudgins alive and continue to tell his story to the next generation, and 2) To provide a national platform to honor outstanding players – and ultimately one player – within small college basketball on an annual basis. The Trevor Hudgins Award is sponsored by Northwest Missouri State University, Northwest Missouri State Alumni Association, the Scribner Family Foundation Fund, Windmill Benefits and the Kansas State Credit Union.

The Small College Basketball National Awards Committee consists of the following coaches: Gary Stewart – Stevenson(Md.), Chris Briggs - Georgetown (Ky.), Bill Dreikosen - Rocky Mountain (Mont.), Mark Berokoff –Oklahoma City, Mike Donnelly – Florida Southern, Sam Hargraves – Olivet (Mich.), Richard Westerlund – Northwestern (OH), Chase Tiechmann – Florida College, Aaron Siebenthall – Ottawa (Kan.), Mark Vanderslice – USC – Aiken, Matt O'Brien – Southwestern (KS), Chris Wright – Langston (OK), Ben Thompson – Emory & Henry, Justin Leslie – Midwestern State, Raul Placeres – Maryville College (TN), Chris Martin – Loras (IA), John Lamanna – Whitman (WA), Brian Miller – MSOE, Justin Downer – Point Loma Nazarene. For more information on the Trevor Hudgins Award or Small College Basketball, please head to smallcollegebasketball.com.

2023-24 Trevor Hudgins Award Watch List

| Josh Angle Drew Blair | Claremont-Mudd-Scripps MN-Duluth |
|--------------------------|-------------------------------------|
| | |
| Anthony Brown | MidAmerica Nazarene |
| DJ Campbell | Stockton |
| Jack Clement | Otterbein |
| Vinny DeAngelo | Swarthmore |
| Tyler Dearman | Guilford |
| Wes Dreamer | NW MO State |
| Jesse Hafemeister | Catholic |
| Jake Hilmer | Upper lowa |
| Jahn Hines | Christopher Newport |
| Jeff Hunter | Keene State |
| Zach Laput | Bentley |
| KJ Jones | Emmanuel (GA) |
| Josiah Johnson | Mary Hardin-Baylor |
| Ryan Jolly | Piedmont |
| Elijah Malone | Grace |
| Jayvon Maughmer | Cedarville |
| Anthony Mazzeo | Case Western Reserve |
| Christian Parker | Mount Union |
| Ethan Porterfield | IUP |
| Tyler Schmidt | Olivet Nazarene |
| Jeremiah Sparks | Oswego State |
| Zach Toussaint | West Texas A&M |
| Malik Willingham | Minnesota State |
| | |